How I Got Stuck With Kshs 2000 Worth Of One Shilling Coins…

Nobody informed me of this. Not even a friend or the Social media… I don’t listen to radio much.

If in any case the government gave the directive that One Shilling Coins, should not be used, that was sabotage, economic crime on their part…

The government ought to have sent three months prior notice to businessmen, businessmen like me. And probably inform us where to the coins we had, in exchange for notes.

Why did the government choose to inform only the customers while I was asleep? Why?

I get to my shop early as usual, with my trademark smile and jokes…if you have read my previous posts, you should know by now that I run a shop, household commodities to be precise…

It was Tuesday morning…

I had already settled in my shop, when I overheard Nyaloka…she sells groceries in a shop next to mine…arguing with a customer who had come to buy tomatoes from her but was adamant to take One Shilling Coins as back change. The customer expressed her fears about the coins, stating that she had it over the radio that they were no longer valid

Seemingly, Nyaloka is also unaware of this new development!

I get out and try talking the woman into accepting the coins… I tell her that in any case she heard such news, it only meant that the government had stopped printing One Shilling Coins and that doesn’t mean they are no longer in use…

Finally, she reluctantly takes the coins…

As time goes by, most shopkeepers get wind of this development and stop accepting the coins too. I think this is bullshit, so I just accept the coins…

This spreads like bushfire!

Customers troops into my shop and I was make very high sales, surprisingly most of them coming with One Shilling Coins!!!

By the time I was closing shop, I really had a hard time counting,in total I have 2000 worth of One Shilling Coins…

The next day morning, I decide to go and do some restocking at the nearby wholesale shop.

Two thousand coins is quite a load… No joke! It weighs about 20kgs…that’s an exaggeration, maybe 8kgs!!

When I arrive, it isn’t crowded so I quickly handed out my order. The wholesaler totals it and informs me to pay Kshs 5000,that I have no problem since I have Kshs 3200 in notes and Kshs 2000 in One Shilling Coins, so I just deducted 200 Shilling note and gave him the rest…

“Jakom magi ok wakaw!” he says smiling… (Chairman, we don’t accept these coins).

Since he was smiling, I assume he was just kidding. I realise how serious he is when he takes the notes and hands me back the coins…

This is absolute madness!!

No amount of reasoning and pleading bares fruit. So I just take stock worth the notes and walk back to my shop so sad, cursing the wholesaler, I curse the government even more…

When I get to my shop, I place the coins in a small box and keep it in one corner inside the shop.

Each morning I open my door,one look at the coins and my smile just disappears… It’s like sitting on a goldmine and not having a hoe to dig it up.

I hate the government for doing this to me…

I keep the coins with the hope that the government may one day decide to collect them and compensate me for the losses.

Deep inside my mind, I plan to sue the government…

10 thoughts on “How I Got Stuck With Kshs 2000 Worth Of One Shilling Coins…

Leave a Reply

